TGTF Catchup: The1975, Lucy Rose, Dog is Dead and more.

In the last post, I mentioned I’d been writing quite a bit even though I hadn’t been posting it to this blog. Here’s a little catchup for the work I’ve done for ThereGoesTheFear.com

The1975
Facedown EP
Sex EP
With a series of two quick releases under their belts, the1975 have been building up their own hype. I’ve been keeping up with it all for TGTF and whilst some of it is disappointing, there’s real promise in the Mancunian band. Click the links above for my words and listen to “You” below.

The Killers
Battleborn Album Review
TGTF Podcast
Shortly after reviewing their new record, I was asked to partake in a small debate about The Killers in which I sound quite ridiculous and suggest that music no longer needs them. Its all a very strange experience for me. Either way, you can get to either of them from the above links. Don’t expect me to be anywhere near as nice as I was when I suggested that a Killers show was my favourite ever.


Lucy Rose
Like I Used To Album Review
Lucy Rose is the one constant of 2012 for me. She’s been the only artist to genuinely live up to the huge amount of hype around them and not allow it to change them. As you may be able to tell, this quite a nice review.

Dog is Dead
All Our Favourite Stories Album Review
Bands to Watch
Festifeel Coverage
The Nottingham band are a TGTF staple by now. Dog is Dead have been covered for a long, long time there and I was lucky enough to be allowed to take up their coverage for the end product. I’m not sure I gave the review TGTF readers were expecting, but oh well. See the links above and listen to Teenage Daughter below. 

Kyla La Grange
Album Review
Festifeel Coverage
If Lucy Rose is the bright side of Laura Marling from before she turned a bit naff, Kyla La Grange is what would have happened if Marling had done a Bob Dylan and picked up an electric guitar for her darker material. Whilst her music wraps itself in moodiness, it still has an uplifting and rather haunting sound at times. Sadly, the record doesn’t fully explain all of this. Read the review above. More on La Grange to come in the SI update.

That’s pretty much that for now. I also saw White Rabbits, said Tall Ships have more power than TeamGB’s cyclists and suggested that Deap Vally could make a debut record better than the White Stripes‘ Get Behind Me Satan, but that’s all passing comment really.

Tomorrow, the Sound Influx update and a fantastic video from a band that split up almost two years ago!
Take care of each other
Braden

Leave a Reply

